Hello and welcome to Explorer Fitness, the fitness and wellness blog for Christopher Columbus High school. As the wellness director, I feel it is my responsibility to keep everyone informed on the most up-to-date information regarding exercise, nutrition, and healthy lifestyles. I have a number of articles ready to go and I plan on establishing a number of recurring segments. This blog is open to the public. Obviously all students, faculty, alumni and parents are welcome but feel free to invite friends and loved ones to follow the blog.

I wanted to give a little background on myself just to show my education and experience in the wellness field. I graduated from the University of Miami with baccalaureate degrees in Exercise Physiology and Psychology. I went on to pursue a Master’s degree in Exercise Physiology from the University of Miami. During my graduate studies, I was the Graduate Assistant for the facility. This position involved running wellness programs for faculty and staff of the university. I also conducted fitness assessments for the personal training program. After graduating, I began working at South Miami Hospital in outpatient rehabilitation. During my time there, I supervised the exercise programs for both the Cardiac and Pulmonary rehabilitation. I also educated patients on healthy lifestyle choices.

As the Director of the Wellness center, you may have questions regarding exercise principles and correct exercise form. My well-developed personal training career will be a resource to help you achieve your goals. I have been a certified personal trainer for over 4 years. My clientele included adolescents, adults, and the elderly population. I have trained both athletes and the sedentary population. I have worked in multiple gym settings as well as in-home training. Over the past few years, I have been instructing personal training workshops for a certifying organization. As you can tell, I enjoy teaching and I make sure that people are exercising in the right way.

I am going to briefly explain what I plan to do with the blog. I will be posting articles related to exercise (exercise principles, instructions, and advice) and nutrition (advice and recipes). But I will also post motivational quotes, refer articles I feel are important to read, and provide my advice on healthy living. I encourage you to click the “follow” button on the top of the page. This will result in an email notification every time I post a blog.

Once again, my name is Josh Cantor and I am the Wellness Director here at Christopher Columbus High School. If you need to reach me I can be contacted at jcantor@columbushs.com

Adelante

